Selena Gomez and Cristiano Ronaldo Dominated Instagram in 2017

Instagram shared its 'look back' at 2017

Instagram revealed its best of 2017
Barcin/iStock

The holiday shopping season coincides with year-in-review season, and Instagram shared its “look back” at 2017 Wednesday.

The most-liked post of 2017 came from Beyoncé, while soccer superstar Cristiano Ronaldo was behind the year’s most-liked celebrity video.

LeLe Pons had the most-viewed Instagram Stories of 2017.

The top hashtag of 2017 was #love, while #photography increased the most in popularity throughout the year.

New York was the year’s most-Instagrammed city, while Disneyland was the top location.

Selena Gomez led Instagram in followers, with more than 130 million, while Ronaldo tallied the most follower growth, adding more than 30 million.

Clarendon was the year’s most-used filter, while Puppy topped the list of face filters.

The complete lists from Instagram follow below:

Most-liked posts of 2017:

Most-liked celebrity videos of 2017:

Most-followed celebrities of 2017:

  1. Gomez (@selenagomez), 130 million+
  2. Ronaldo (@cristiano), 116 million+
  3. Ariana Grande (@arianagrande), 115 million+
  4. Beyoncé (@beyonce), 108 million+
  5. Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian), 104 million+
  6. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift), 104 million+
  7. Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner), 99.5 million+
  8. Dwayne Johnson (@therock), 96 million+
  9. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber), 93.9 million+
  10. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner), 84.8 million+

Celebrities who gained the most followers in 2017:

  1. Ronaldo, 30 million+
  2. Gomez, 24 million+
  3. Grande, 22 million+
  4. Kylie Jenner, 23 million+
  5. Johnson, 22 million+
  6. Leo Messi (@leomessi), 21 million+
  7. Neymar (@neymarjr), 20 million+
  8. Beyoncé, 17 million+
  9. Bieber, 16 million+
  10. Kardashian West, 15 million+

Accounts with the most-viewed Instagram Stories (verified accounts with more than 5 million followers with the most views on Instagram Stories in 2017):

  1. Pons (@lelepons)
  2. Neymar
  3. Olga Igorevna Buzov (@buzova86)
  4. Kardashian West
  5. Amanda Cerny (@amandacerny)
  6. Chiara Ferragni (@chiaraferragni)
  7. Maluma (@maluma)
  8. Anitta (@anitta)
  9. Grande
  10. Kourtney Kardashian (@kourtneykardash)

Most-Instagrammed cities of 2017:

  1. New York
  2. London
  3. Moscow
  4. Sao Paulo
  5. Paris
  6. Los Angeles
  7. St. Petersburg, Russia
  8. Jakarta, Indonesia
  9. Istanbul
  10. Barcelona, Spain

Most-Instagrammed locations of 2017:

  1. Disneyland, Anaheim, Calif.
  2. Times Square, New York
  3. Central Park, New York
  4. Tour Eiffel, Paris
  5. Tokyo Disneyland, Tokyo
  6. Disney’s Magic Kingdom, Orlando, Fla.
  7. Musée du Louvre, Paris
  8. Brooklyn Bridge, Brooklyn, N.Y.
  9. Disney California Adventure Park, Anaheim, Calif.
  10. Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas

Top hashtags of 2017:

  1. #love
  2. #fashion
  3. #photooftheday
  4. #photography
  5. #art
  6. #beautiful
  7. #travel
  8. #happy
  9. #nature
  10. #picoftheday

Hashtags that increased most in popularity throughout 2017:

  1. #photography
  2. #travelphotography
  3. #memes
  4. #summer2017
  5. #naturephotography
  6. #meme
  7. #travel
  8. #fitnessmotivation
  9. #bts
  10. #photographer

Most-used Instagram filters of 2017:

  1. Clarendon
  2. Gingham
  3. Juno
  4. Lark
  5. Moon

Most-used Instagram Stories face filters of 2017:

  1. Puppy
  2. Bunny
  3. Koala
  4. Genius
  5. Love

Most-followed pets on Instagram in 2017:

  1. jiffpom (@jiffpom), Pomerian, U.S.
  2. nala_cat (@nala_cat), cat, U.S.
  3. Doug the Pug (@itsdougthepug), Pug, U.S.
  4. Marutaro (@marutaro), Shiba Inu, Japan
  5. Grumpy Cat (@realgrumpycat), cat, U.S.
  6. Marnie the Dog (@marniethedog), Shih Tzu, U.S.
  7. Tuna (@tunameltsmyheart), Chihuahua, U.S.
  8. Juniper&Fig (@juniperfoxx), fox, U.S.
  9. Lil BUB (@iamlilbub), cat, U.S.
  10. Loki (@loki_the_wolfdog), Husky, U.S.

Recommended articles