Twitter, Sky Sports News HQ Livestream Window Opens as Soccer Transfer Window Shuts

Sky Sports News HQ has been livestreaming key coverage of the last hours of soccer’s January transfer window via Twitter

Sky Sports News HQ has been livestreaming key coverage of the last hours of soccer’s January transfer window via Twitter.

The sports network said in a release that it has had reporters covering every team in the U.K.’s Premier League for the final 48 hours of the transfer window.

Sky Sports News HQ went live from the Sky Sports Newsroom from noon to 1 p.m. GMT (7 a.m. to 8 a.m. ET), and two more livestreams are set for 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. GMT (noon to 1 p.m. ET) and 10 p.m. to 11 p.m. GMT (5 p.m. to 6 p.m. ET).

The livestreams will provide live coverage, including the best live Twitter conversation from deadlineday.twitter.com.

Other Deadline Day initiatives included:

  • A 24-hour installment of Transfer Centre.
  • Live coverage across skysports.com and the Sky Sports application.
  • A “supersized: Gillette Soccer Special featuring Tuesday games and transfer updates.
  • In-game clips from Premier League games on the Football Score Centre app.

Twitter chief operating officer Anthony Noto said in the release:

We are thrilled to collaborate with Sky Sports to give fans everywhere another way to watch and discuss the day’s top rumors and deals as they unfold live, all on Twitter.

Sky Sports News executive editor Andy Cairns added:

Deadline Day is a huge date in the diary for everyone who loves football, it provokes countless conversations, and Sky Sports News can be relied on to deliver the news as it breaks through to the final seconds. Every window we strive to find new ways for fans to follow our coverage and deliver the stories in a way that suits their busy lives.

And Sky Sports director of digital David Gibbs said:

The heart of Deadline Day is the fantastic reporting team and a newsroom that delivers incredible stories of improbable transfers all football fans are craving. Our job is to package the fascinating stories across all the platforms we have so that fans can decide the best way for them to follow the news, whether that’s watching Sky Sports News HQ, livestreaming on Twitter or across our apps and website.

Soccer fans: Did your favorite clubs make any big moves today?