Winners Announced for First-Ever CNN iReport Awards

The winners of the inaugural edition of the CNN iReport Awards were announced Tuesday at the CNN Grill at the 2011 South by Southwest conference in Austin, Texas, by participation director Lila King. They were:
Breaking News Coverage: Michael Roberts, early images of Deepwater Horizon fire;
Original Reporting: Percy von Lipinski, bison as pet;
Compelling Imagery (Photos or Video): Mugur Vărzariu, Abandon Valley;
Commentary: James Amerson, Dear Gulf, I’ll miss you;
Personal Story: Faithe Chu, My escape from Vietnam;
Interview: Tristan Macaraeg, 16-year-old interviews classmate on living in foster care;
Community Choice: Samantha Bolton; and
iReport Spirit Awards: Janie Lambert, Julio Ortiz-Teissonniere, Omékongo Dibinga, Shari Atukorala, and Sherbien Dacalanio. David Cohen is editor of Adweek's Social Pro Daily.