WhatsApp Is Giving Users More Control Over How They Can Be Added to Groups

People can choose between Nobody, My Contacts or Everyone

The new settings began rolling out Wednesday and should be available globally in the coming weeks
WhatsApp

WhatsApp added several privacy settings to enable its users to determine how they can be invited to and added to groups on the messaging application.

The new features will help prevent users from being added to spam groups.

Users can now go their settings menu and tap Account, Privacy and Groups, where they can choose between Nobody, My Contacts or Everyone.

Nobody means that people will need to approve joining every group that they are invited to join, while My Contacts means only people in their address books can add them to groups.

If a user opts for Nobody or My Contacts, the person inviting them to join a group will be prompted to send a private invite via an individual chat, and that user will have three days to accept the invite, or it will expire.

The new settings began rolling out Wednesday and should be available globally in the coming weeks to all people using the latest version of the app.

WhatsApp wrote in a blog post, “WhatsApp groups continue to connect family, friends, coworkers, classmates and more. As people turn to groups for important conversations, users have asked for more control over their experience. Today, we’re introducing a new privacy setting and invite system to help you decide who can add you to groups.”