WhatsApp Users Can Now Delete Messages, But Only Within 7 Minutes

The feature will only work if the user and all recipients are using the latest versions of its app

Didn't mean to send that WhatsApp message? You have seven minutes to do something about it
mikkelwilliam/iStock

WhatsApp quietly added a long-awaited feature: the ability to delete messages.

However, users better be quick: They only have seven minutes to do it.

The Facebook-owned messaging application said in its frequently asked questions section that messages that are deleted will be replaced with, “This message was deleted,” and it provided the following instructions:

  • Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  • Tap and hold the message.
  • Choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  • Tap Delete, followed by Delete for Everyone.

WhatsApp said this feature will only work if the user and all recipients are using the latest versions of its app for iOS, Android or Windows Phone, adding that recipients may see the messages before they are deleted, and users will not be notified if the process was not successful.