Who Gets Your Vote For @TIME (And @Twitter) Person Of The Year? #TIMEPOY

Who should be TIME magazine’s Person Of The Year?

Formerly Man Of The Year, previous winners of this lofty accolade include Charles Lindbergh (1927), Mahatma Gandhi (1930), John F. Kennedy (1961), Barack Obama (2008) and Mark Zuckerberg (2010). Plus, uh, Adolf Hitler (1938) and Joseph Stalin, who won the award twice (1939, 1942). But hey, everyone makes mistakes.

This year, TIME have teamed up Twitter to “spark a global conversation around who you think should be chosen”, and allow you to case your vote by tweeting the name of your winner alongside the hashtag #TIMEPOY.

Your choice will be tracked on Time.com. Poptip will gather Tweets that include #TIMEPOY and Tweets that are replies to @TIME’s callout for #TIMEPOY to fully capture the conversation. The Poptip technology registers votes even for misspelled names.

TIME will also share Vine videos of celebrities, politicians and influencers about their choices. You can submit your own Vine using #TIMEPOY; they will be featured on Time.com.

Managing editor Nancy Gibbs will announce the Person of the Year on NBC’s TODAY show on Wednesday, December 11, followed immediately by a Tweet from @TIME.

While you can vote for anyone you choose, with the final choice made by TIME‘s editors, at the time of writing Pope Francis leads all candidates amongst TIME‘s pre-selections.

(Source: Twitter Blog. TIME image: Tony Fischer Photography via Flickr.)