Reporters Without Borders Places Turkey, Russia ‘Under Surveillance’

Reporters Without Borders marked World Day Against Cyber Censorship March 12 by adding Turkey and Russia to its “Under Surveillance” list, where they join Australia, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates, Belarus, Thailand, Bahrain, Eritrea, Sri Lanka, and Malaysia on the list of countries attempting to tighten control over the Internet.

The journalism advocacy group’s “Enemies of the Internet” list is made up of Saudi Arabia, Burma, China, North Korea, Cuba, Egypt, Iran, Uzbekistan, Syria, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, and Vietnam.