MPA, ASME to Honor Ann Moore and Martha Stewart

The magazine industry will honor two veteran women publishers, Ann Moore and Martha Stewart, with Lifetime Achievement Awards. Moore, chairman and CEO of Time Inc., will receive the Magazine Publishers of America’s Henry Johnson Fisher Award; while Stewart will be inducted into the American Society of Magazine Editors’ Hall of Fame, both organizations announced.
The prestigious awards will be presented Jan. 29 at a luncheon at the Plaza in New York City.
In announcing the award, MPA cited Moore’s leadership of the industry’s biggest magazine company, where she served in various executive positions before assuming her current role in 2002. As president of People earlier in her Time Inc. career, she oversaw the launches of the huge consumer magazines In Style and Real Simple. As the head of Time Warner’s magazine unit, she’s made expansion of the magazines to digital platforms a top focus as magazine growth has contracted.
The founder of namesake lifestyle empire Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia, Stewart is credited with creating a new magazine category with the launch of her eponymous women’s monthly that spread her passion for high-end homemaking to millions. The expansive portfolio now comprises a vast media and merchandising portfolio that includes TV, radio, books and home products lines.