MacArthur Fellows Announced


Once again, the MacArthur Awards have seen fit to pass us by. Chosen instead were these semi-local slackers:

Michael Elowitz
CalTech Molecular Biologist

Saul Griffith
Squid Labs

Cheryl Hayashi
UC Riverside Spider Silk Biologist

Claire Kremen
UC Berkeley Conservation Biologist

Paul Rothemund
CalTech Nanotechnologist

They get a half mil. over 5 years. We know one recipient who remodeled his house.

Here’s a list of past Fellows by area of specialty. Not to name names, but we always wonder about the film makers who won–some of them seem to never work again.