Facebook: Here’s How to Remove Posts From Your Timeline in Bulk

You can delete or hide posts from your profile

It takes a few steps, but you can delete posts in bulk from Facebook
BravissimoS/iStock

Did you know you can remove posts from your Facebook Timeline in bulk from within the Facebook mobile application? This includes the ability to delete or hide posts that you’ve previously shared, as well as to remove your tag from posts you’ve been tagged in by other users. Our guide will show you how this feature works.

Note: These screenshots were captured in the Facebook app on iOS.

Step 1: Near the top of your Facebook News Feed, tap your profile picture to go to your profile.

Step 2: Scroll down and tap “Manage Posts.”

Step 3: Tap the circle to the left of each post that you want to delete/hide from your profile.

Important Note: You have three options for removing content from your profile in bulk: You can delete old posts that you personally shared, hide posts that you or someone else shared, or remove the tags from posts that you’ve been tagged in by other users. However, you have to complete these actions one at a time. If you want to delete a lot of content from your profile, you’ll need to create “batches” of posts by only tapping on posts for which you want to take the same action. That is, you can’t delete any posts you personally shared if you also include posts shared by others in the same “batch.”

Also note, you can tap the “Filters” button near the top-left corner of the screen to filter your view to only see posts that you personally shared, only posts that you’re tagged in and so on.

Step 4: Once you’ve selected one or more posts, tap either “Next” in the top-right corner of the screen, or the three icons in the bottom-left corner of the screen to continue.

Step 5: At the bottom of the screen, tap “Delete Posts,” “Hide from Timeline” or “Remove Tags,” depending on what you want to do. Note: If you’re trying to delete posts but the “Delete Posts” option is in gray text, rather than black, it means you accidentally tapped a post that Facebook won’t allow you to delete. Examples include notices that you’ve changed your profile or cover photo and posts that you may have shared from within a Facebook game. You can only remove these posts from your timeline by tapping the “Hide from Timeline” option.

Step 6: Tap “Delete Posts,” “Hide” or “OK” on the confirmation window that appears. The window that appears will be determined by the option you tapped in Step 5 above.