Cabrini Literary Guild Awards Young Writers


The Cabrini Literary Guild has awarded their annual Creative Writing Awards. Allison Cohen, publisher of the Los Feliz Ledger, Jane Gilman and Laura Eversz, both of the Larchmont Chronicle were judges for both the nonfiction and the fiction categories. Author Karle Dickerson spoke at the luncheon ceremony.

The annual contest honors the top five fiction and non-fiction entries submitted by Catholic high school students within the Los Angeles Archdiocese.

Non Fiction Awards went to
Alina Fong, Kelsey Vela, Megan Fitzpatrick, Kati Farina and Hanna Guthrie, all of Mayfield Senior School.

Fiction Awards went to

Emily Loynachlan, Brighton Early, Annabel Coe, all from Immaculate Heart, Cassandra Feliciano of Mayfield Sr., and Nicole Rouse of Alverno High School.

The guild was founded in 1943 by a group of women interested in literary discussions. It has grown into an organization with cultural, philanthropic, spiritual and social interests. The guild supports local charities and sponsors an annual writing contest open to Catholic high school students.