Tina Fey, Sheryl Crow 2010 Matrix Honorees

Sorry, sometimes we can’t help the clever headlines: New York Women in Communications, a non-profit organization dedicated to empowering women in all communications disciplines, today announced the honorees for the annual Matrix Awards.

The Matrix Awards has for 30 years celebrated strong women in the field of media and communication, and on April 19 at the Waldorf Astoria, Tina Fey, Ina Garten, Sheryl Crow, Anne Keating, Doris Kearns Goodwin, Marissa Mayer and Gayle King will all become honoree Matrices. Former Matrix recipients include Barbara Walters, Meryl Streep, Annie Leibovitz, and Anna Wintour (natch).

And our favorite comedian/news anchor, Brian Williams, will be on hand to emcee.

Full press release after the jump.

New York Women In Communications Announces 2010 Matrix Award Honorees

Distinguished Honorees Include…Tina Fey, Sheryl Crow, Ina Garten, Gayle King and Marissa Mayer, Among Others Brian Williams To Emcee Ceremony

NEW YORK, Jan. 11 /PRNewswire/ — New York Women in Communications will
present the 2010 Matrix Awards on Monday, April 19, 2010 during a luncheon at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City. The prestigious annual award recognizes exceptional women who have established themselves in the communications fields. The ceremony, hosted by NBC Universal, will be emceed by “NBC Nightly News” anchor and managing editor, Brian Williams.

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2010, the Matrix Awards luncheon is
recognized by New York’s communications and entertainment community as one of the most outstanding events of the year, with more than one thousand people expected to gather to celebrate and salute exceptional women in communications. Previous award recipients include Barbara Walters, Meryl Streep, Martha Stewart, Anna Wintour, Meredith Vieira and Annie Leibovitz, to name a few. Portions of the proceeds from the Matrix Awards luncheon will go to the organization’s Foundation, which offers a full range of scholarships and educational programs for women, whether just beginning or embarking on a transition in their careers.

2010 Matrix Award Honorees:

Susan Chira, foreign editor, The New York Times

Sheryl Crow, Grammy Award-winning singer/songwriter

Tina Fey, executive producer, head writer, star, NBC’s three-time Emmy
Award-winning “30 Rock”

Ina Garten, author and host, Emmy Award-winning Food Network Program,
“Barefoot Contessa”

Doris Kearns Goodwin, Pulitzer Prize-winning author and presidential

Anne Keating, senior vice president, public relations, special events &
corporate philanthropy, Bloomingdale’s

Gayle King, editor-at-large, O, The Oprah Magazine, host, The Gayle King Show, Sirius XM Radio

Marissa Mayer, vice president, search products & user experience, Google

“We are thrilled to recognize the exceptional work of these eight inspiring women,” said Denise Warren, president, New York Women in Communications. “From Pulitzer Prize and Grammy winners to best-selling authors, each has truly exemplified the theme of the Matrix Awards, ‘Women Who Change the World,’ and we are proud to honor them in this milestone year of the award.”