The 2016 Hillman Prize Winners

A great list.

The Sydney Hillman Foundation has announced the winners of the 2016 Hillman Prizes, which honor the best journalism in service of social justice.

“Given current debates about civil rights, income inequality, and the right of workers to organize unions, this year’s Hillman Prize winners covered topics essential to the ongoing battle to make this country better for everyone,” said Hillman Foundation president Bruce Raynor, in a statement.

Below are the winners, congrats to all.

2016 Hillman Prize for Book Journalism
$2 a Day: Living on Almost Nothing in America
Kathryn J. Edin & H. Luke Shaefer
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

2016 Hillman Prize for Newspaper Journalism
Michael Winerip, Michael Schwirtz, Tom Robbins
Cellblock Justice
New York Times

2016 Hillman Prize for Broadcast Journalism
Melissa Harris-Perry

2016 Hillman Prize for Magazine Journalism
Melissa del Bosque
Death on Sevenmile Road
Texas Observer/The Investigative Fund

2016 Hillman Prize for Web Journalism
Curt Guyette
The Flint Water Crisis
ACLU of Michigan Democracy Watch Blog

2016 Hillman Prize for Opinion & Analysis Journalism
Rebecca Traister
Writer at large, New York magazine; contributing editor, Elle