Stirling Prize Shortlist Released, Zaha Hadid Favored to Win

It’s that time of year again, when a small handful of architects are shortlisted for the Stirling Prize, the top award handed out by the Royal Institute of British Architects. Said list has just been released and on it are six firms for one of the buildings they’ve completed (the prize is technically a “Building of the Year” award), all vying for a cash prize of £20,000 and bragging rights for the year. David Chipperfield is on the list again, having won just three years ago for his Museum of Modern Literature. But the favorite of the bookies (no kidding, people actually bet on this) is four-time nominee Zaha Hadid for her much talked about MAXXI National Museum of XXI Century Arts, which has been heralded everything from just a great building to all the way up to the one thing that will bring Rome into the modern age. But if the Pritzker Prize going to long shot SANAA back in March shows us anything (we remind you that we totally called that one), it’s that 2010 might be a year of surprises. Here’s the shortlist:

Neues Museum by David Chipperfield Architects with Julian Harrap Archtitects
MAXXI National Museum of XXI Century Arts by Zaha Hadid Architects
Christ’s College School by DSDHA
Ashmolean Museum by Rick Mather Architects
Clapham Manor Primary School by dRMM
Bateman’s Row by Theis and Khan