Scripps Howard Foundation’s National Journalism Awards

From the release:

    The Scripps Howard Foundation’s National Journalism Awards competition offers 17 categories for print, broadcast and online journalism. Here’s info about one of special interest to IRE members:

    Investigative Reporting

    $25,000 Ursula and Gilbert Farfel Prize
    Awarded in cooperation with Scripps College of Communication at Ohio
    University, this prize honors substantive print reporting that covers
    stories intelligently and completely and encourages print media to
    pursue investigative reporting projects.

    Open to any newspaper, magazine or wire service reporter, team of
    reporters or freelance journalist(s) for work published in a daily
    newspaper, magazine or distributed by a wire service in 2006.

    The story or series must be major substantive reporting that covers a
    story completely and raises public consciousness and/or awareness about the topic. It must have been written as a result of extra effort on the part of the reporter, team or freelance journalist(s) to pursue an issue in depth.

    Ideally, the story or series will have exposed major issues or problems such as improprieties or injustices, mismanagement, and/or corruption. It should have provoked the public to recognize a major wrong and raised public awareness of the issue.

Read more here.