Ray Eames, Maira Kalman, John Maeda Among ADC Hall of Fame Inductees

When it comes to its Hall of Fame, the Art Directors Club (ADC) doesn’t mess around. Next month, seven extraordinary individuals will join a who’s who of significant contributors to art direction and visual communications that includes everyone from Walt Disney and Raymond Loewy to Steve Heller and Issey Miyake (if only we could get that latter duo together, just think of the resulting book-cum-pleated garment!). The fantastic seven are:

  • Alex Bogusky, co-chairman, Crispin Porter + Bogusky
  • Ray Eames (posthumous), designer, architect, filmmaker
  • Sir John Hegarty, chairman, worldwide creative director, Bartle Bogle Hegarty
  • Maira Kalman, illustrator, artist, designer
  • John Maeda, president, Rhode Island School of Design
  • R. Roger Remington, Massimo and Leila Vignelli Distinguished Professor of Design, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Bruce Weber, fashion photographer

    Interestingly, the November 6 induction ceremony will add to the ADC Hall of Fame both a second Eames (Charles joined in 1984) and a second Kalman (Tibor was inducted in 2004). Meanwhile, mark your calendars for the ADC’s “Fame Festival” series of events, including what promise to be lively conversations with Bogusky and Hegarty (November 5) and with Kalman and Maeda (November 11).