National Press Club Names Winners of Annual Journalism Contest

The National Press Club yesterday announced the winners of it’s annual Journalism Contest. Recipients will be honored at a Press Club dinner on Wednesday, July 30.

The Washington Post won in the Breaking News: Print category for its coverage of the Navy Yards shooting in September 2013 that left 12 dead.

Katherine Skiba of the Chicago Tribune was recognized in the Washington Regional Reporting category for her writing including a look at congressional foreign travel.

The Sandy Hume Memorial Award for Excellence in Political Journalism went to Ted Mann of The Wall Street Journal for a series on the New Jersey bridge scandal.

Sara Sorcher of National Journal is the recipient of the Michael A. Dornheim Award for her work on defense procurement, civil applications of unmanned aerial vehicles, federal budgeting, and congressional oversight. Molly Ball of The Atlantic will receive the Lee Walczak Award for Political Analysis for coverage of the struggles of the Republican Party following the 2012 elections.

For a full list of winners (the list is long and exhaustive) click here.

Recommended articles