Mies van der Rohe Award Announces Shortlist for Contemporary Architecture Prize

‘Tis the season and here we are with another week and another big architecture prize picking their big name finalists for their potential big wins. This time around it’s the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture, also known as the Mies van der Rohe Award. Now in its twenty-fourth year (even though they only give out an award every two years), the six chosen finalists, out of 343 submissions, included those you’d expect, like David Chipperfield for the Neues Museum in Berlin, Jean Nouvel for his concert hall in Copenhagen, and Zaha Hadid for her MAXXI in Rome (she’s already won once before, back in 2003, for her car park in Strasbourg, France). Seems like, with any award, it’s often difficult to compete with those high-profile, household names, but we think Bernard Tschumi is the closest to taking down the upper-echelon starchitects with his Acropolis Museum. However it pans out, the winner will be announced at a ceremonyat the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona on June 20th and the winner will take home £60,000 and whoever lands the “Special Mention” also getting a none-too-shabby £20,000.