Committee to Protect Journalists Rejects Call for Event Chair Resignation

There was a bit of an overseas ruckus ahead of tonight’s International Press Freedom Awards dinner in New York City, during which the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) will honor four courageous reporters.

Ying Chan, a Hong Kong journalist and professor who was celebrated at the same annual dinner 15 years ago, called on event chairman Daniel Doctoroff, CEO of Bloomberg L.P., to resign from that post. He feels that it is hypocritical for the exec to oversee the event given recent reports of Bloomberg allegedly killing a big China enterprise story out of fears it would anger the country and the related November 13 dismissal of Hong Kong Bloomerg reporter Michael Forsythe.

ChinaFile reporter Emily Brill got this statement from the CPJ:

Sandra Mims Rowe, chairman of the CPJ Board of Directors, declined to be interviewed, as did CPJ executive director Joel Simon. Rowe issued the following statement:

“I chair the CPJ board of directors and have heard from several board members that you are trying to draw a connection between Dan Doctoroff chairing the Press Freedom Awards banquet and Bloomberg’s handling of the recent China stories. I can speak for CPJ. This is a false linkage. We are pleased to have Dan Doctoroff as chair of the event and we look forward to a successful banquet Tuesday.”

The four journalists being honored tonight are: Janet Hinostroza (Teleamazonas, Ecuador); Bassem Youssef (Egypt); Nedim Şener (Posta, Turkey); and Nguyen Van Hai (Dieu Cay, Vietnam). Tonight’s dinner will be hosted by Lara Logan. Rest of Brill’s item for the Asia Society publication here.

Update (12:30 p.m.):
Per Michael Calderone of The Huffington Post, Logan will not be hosting tonight’s event after all. Stepping in to take her place: CBS News anchor Scott Pelley.

[Photo courtesy:; ChinaFile article via South China Morning Post]