Here Come the Judges: Art Directors Club, IDEA, and Core77 Design Awards

Design awards season is upon us and with it a flurry of freshly seated juries. Here are three ways ways to get your work appraised (and possibly lauded) by design minds such as Rodrigo Corral, Jan Chipchase, and Alice Twemlow:

  • Our friends at the Art Directors Club have announced the full Design jury for the global ADC 91st Annual Awards, and it’s a doozy. The dashing Arem Duplessis, design director of The New York Times Magazine, will preside over a talented dozen of designers that includes Irma Boom, Alan Dye of Apple, and Wired design director Leo Jung (intimidated yet?). Next Friday, January 27, is the last day to submit your entry for the interactive, design, motion, photography, and illustration categories.
  • Over at the Industrial Designers Society of America, the 2012 International Design Excellence Awards (IDEA) program is in full swing. A jury of 19 experts from design consultancies, corporations, and universities will have their say about products, ecodesign, interaction design, packaging, strategy, research, and concepts. Leading the charge is chairperson Rhys Newman, head of advanced projects at Nokia. Other jury members include Thomas Overthun (IDEO), Carrie Russell (Procter & Gamble), and Tad Toulis (TEAGUE). The regular application deadline is February 10, but procrastinators can squeeze out another week by paying a late fee.
  • Core77 is back with the second edition of its ambitious Design Awards program. In addition to progressive categories (social impact, speculative), professional and student entry fields, globally distributed juries, in-depth video testimonials, live jury announcements, and (whew!) a swell trophy created by Rich Brilliant Willing, the 2012 awards feature two new categories: food design and writing & commentary. Among this year’s crop of jury captains are frog design’s Michael DiTullo (soft goods), curator Zoë Ryan (furniture and lighting), and Min and Sulki Choi of Sulki and Min (visual communication). The final deadline for entries is April 10.