Goldsmith Awards Goes To NYT NSA Team

The 2006 Goldsmith Award for Investigative Reporting went last night to the Times’ team of James Risen and Eric Lichtblau for their work exposing the NSA’s wire-tapping efforts.

“[The Goldsmith Awards] encourage a more insightful, spirited debate about public policy, government, and the press,” Shorenstein director Alex S. Jones said during the Harvard gathering last night.

Because the Goldsmith Awards don’t cover just newspapers, they are not very good predictors of the Pulitzers.

The other finalists were the usual suspects for last year: Dana Priest‘s secret prisons, Sue Schmidt et al. and Jack Abramoff, the Toledo Blade’s “Coingate” team, Copley’s Duke Cunningham team, and an LAT team.