Dirksen Award Updates

Although we already reported Brody Mullins’ winning of this year’s Dirksen Award, Roll Call reports some other honors from the National Press Foundation.

  • Roll Call’s Paul Kane and the Associated Press’ Andrew Taylor have both been awarded special citations for Congressional reporting. (Kane, you’ll recall, won the NPF’s Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting of Congress in 2004). (See Kane’s FishbowlDC Interview here)

    These special citations are not common, but NPF President Bob Meyers said that (referring, in this instance, to Kane), “the judges really wanted to acknowledge that his work was outstanding and to bring attention to it.”

  • We also learn from the piece that William Kistner and Steve Henn of American Public Media have won a Dirksen Award for broadcast reporting.

    In their piece, Roll Call is quick to point out that, well, their coattails are all over the Dirksens:

    -There’s Kane with this year’s citation and the 2004 award
    -This year’s winner, Mullins, is a Roll Call alumnus
    -Last year’s winner, Ed Henry, is also a Roll Call alumnus.