CFDA Inducts 26 New Members

Looks from the fall 2010 collections of L’Wren Scott (left) and Robert Geller (right), two of the newest members of the CFDA

The Council of Fashion Designers is freshening up. The trade association tasked snappy dresser Michael Bierut of Pentagram with updating his original CFDA logo and recently debuted a spatially tweaked version that spells out the organization’s full name below the distinctive acronym. Meanwhile, the CFDA has renewed its ranks with the induction of 26 new members, including 2009 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund winner and runner-up Sophie Theallet and Monique Péan, CFDA Fashion Incubatees Waris Ahluwalia and Bibhu Mohapatra, Erickson Beamon’s Karen Erickson and Vicki Beamon, and luxe handbag artist Sang A Im-Propp. In addition to ready-to-wear designers such as L’Wren Scott and Pamella DeVos (of Pamella Roland), the list of new members includes those who design for mainstream brands including Ann Taylor (Lisa Axelson) and the BCBG empire (Lubov Azria). CFDA executive director Steven Kolb described the Class of 2010 as “a talented mix of creativity.” They’ll be feted at an October party at the Park Avenue apartment of Vera Wang, a member of the CFDA’s board of directors who can give the newbies tips on how to become a lifestyle brand. We’ve posted the full list of new members below.

Waris Ahluwalia (House of Waris)
Steven Alan
Lisa Axelson (Ann Taylor)
Shane Baum (Baumvision)
Vicki Beamon (Erickson Beamon)
Pamella DeVos (Pamella Roland)
Karen Erickson (Erickson Beamon)
George Esquivel (Esquivel Shoes)
Robert Geller
Gary Graham
Ulrich Grimm (Calvin Klein)
Sang A Im-Propp (Sang A)
Anthony Keegan (Commonwealth Utilities)
Adam Kimmel
Nikki Kule (Kule)
Kimberly McDonald
Rebecca Minkoff
Bibhu Mohapatra
Juan Carlos Obando
Monique Péan
Monica Rich Kosann (Monica Rich Kosann Fine Jewelry)
Robert Rodriguez
L’Wren Scott
Shelly Steffee
Sophie Theallet