Tom Brokaw to Receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

brokawPresident Obama named nineteen recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom today, among them, legendary NBC anchor, Tom Brokaw. Other notable recipients include Ethel Kennedy, Stevie Wonder, Meryl Streep, and Stephen Sondheim. The award, the nation’s highest civilian honor, will be presented at the White House November 24.

“I look forward to presenting these nineteen bold, inspiring Americans with our Nation’s highest civilian honor,” President Obama said. “From activists who fought for change to artists who explored the furthest reaches of our imagination; from scientists who kept America on the cutting edge to public servants who help write new chapters in our American story, these citizens have made extraordinary contributions to our country and the world.”

Here is he full list of this year’s Medal of Freedom recipients: 

  • Alvin Ailey (posthumous)
  • Isabel Allende
  • Tom Brokaw
  • James Chaney, Andrew Goodman, and Michael Schwerner (posthumous)
  • Mildred Dresselhaus
  • John Dingell
  • Ethel Kennedy
  • Suzan Harjo
  • Abner Mikva
  • Patsy Takemoto Mink
  • Edward Roybal (posthumous)
  • Charles Sifford
  • Robert Solow
  • Stephen Sondheim
  • Meryl Streep
  • Marlo Thomas
  • Stevie Wonder