AIGA Welcomes Fresh Crop of National Directors, Launches (Re)designAwards

Fresh Start Sukie’s “A New Leaf” notebook, made from 100% recycled paper.

As you prepare to raise a sparkler and savor a grilled slab of protein in celebration of America’s 235th birthday, we offer two last, mildly patriotic morsels of news from AIGA. First up is the slate of five design minds that today joined the organization’s 15-member national board of directors: president Doug Powell (Schwartz Powell), Andrew Blauvelt (Walker Art Center), Drew Davies (Oxide Design), Susana Rodríguez de Tembleque (SYPartners), and Nathan Shedroff (California College of the Arts). Elected by members, the new directors will serve three-year terms leading up to AIGA’s centennial in 2014.

Meanwhile, the Los Angeles chapter of AIGA has launched the 2011 (Re)designAwards, a design competition that “showcases the importance and innovation of sustainable and socially responsible work created by design professionals, students, educators, and businesses and organizations from around the world.” Enter your sustainable design achievement in one of two categories—social responsibility or environmental sustainability—by July 22 to be judged by the likes of Eric Benson, Rachel Martin, Naomi Pearson, Tim McNeil, and Brian Dougherty. Click here for all of the details.