AARP Magazine to Honor Angelou, Behar, Danza, Winkler and Swayze

On Thursday night, celebs like Maya Angelou, Joy Behar, Tony Danza, Henry Winkler (a.k.a. The Fonz), and Lisa Niemi Swayze will hit Washington for AARP’s sixth annual Inspire Awards ceremony where they will be honored. Jane Pauley will host the event.

Award winners are featured in AARP The Magazine’s January/February 2011 issue. Thursday’s cocktail party, dinner and ceremony will be held at the Ronald Reagan Building.

Members of the D.C. media are getting one-on-one time with celebs as well as a chance to be part of the red carpet press line.

Specific awards and honorees after the jump…

The 2011 honorees include Maya Angelou (Andrus Award Winner – AARP’s highest honor), Tony Danza (Motivating Students), Lisa Niemi Swayze (Searching for a Cure), Pedro José Greer Jr., M.D. (Caring for the Poor), Joy Behar & Eve Behar Scotti (Tackling Heart Disease), Helene Gayle, M.D. (Fighting Global Poverty), Henry Winkler (Helping Stroke Victims), Sandy Chen Stokes (Breaking Cultural Taboos) and Elizabeth Warren (Fixing Finances).