2006 Election Coverage Guide


Where will you turn for your Election Night coverage? To help you make this tough decision, FishbowlDC has created a comprehensive Election Night round-up. Click below for the guide…

  • NPR: Nine consecutive hours of live on-air election coverage begins at 8 p.m. with All Things Considered host Robert Siegel and Senior National Correspondent Linda Wertheimer anchoring. At 1 a.m., NPR White House correspondent Don Gonyea and Capitol Hill reporter Andrea Seabrook will assume the anchor desk until the start of the 5 a.m. national feed of Morning Edition. NPR will have 30 reporters around the country and special election night coverage will be streamed live at www.NPR.org, along with hourly news audio updates. NPR.org will maintain a real-time road map with state-by-state results and summaries of the balance of power in Congress as assessed by NPR’s election editors, Ken Rudin and Ron Elving. For your reference: NPR’s main election page

  • ABC: Charles Gibson will anchor from New York, joined by George Stephanopoulos. The network will broadcast one-hour specials on at 10 p.m. EST and 10 p.m. PST, in addition to four brief live updates with the latest results at the top and bottom of the hours from 8:00 PM ET/PT through 10:00 PM ET/PT. Jake Tapper will report from Ohio; Kate Snow will cover the 2008 presidential angle; Martha Raddatz will be at the WH; Cokie Roberts will provide “analysis and historical context;” and George Will, Donna Brazile and Mark Halperin will provide analysis. Terry Moran will anchor Nightline live for the east and west coasts. (via TVNewser)

  • Bloomberg: Judy Woodruff will analyze midterm returns along with Roger Simon and John Mercurio. Also in the mix is Peter Cook, Rhonda Schaffler and reporters Lindsey Arent and Lizzie O’Leary. (via TVNewser)

  • CNN: Coverage will begin at 7 p.m., anchored by Wolf Blitzer, Anderson Cooper, Lou Dobbs and Paula Zahn. Midnight, after all polls have closed, Larry King hosts a special two-hour edition of Larry King Live, which will include instant reaction from leading politicians and observers. Coverage will continue throughout the night, and American Morning co-anchored by Soledad O’Brien and Miles O’Brien will take air at the special time of 5 a.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 8 for complete post-game election results and analysis. Providing reports throughout the night will be Candy Crowley, John King, Dana Bash, Andrea Koppel, Ed Henry, Suzanne Malveaux, Elaine Quijano, Jeff Greenfield, Bill Schneider, Paul Begala, Bill Bennett, Donna Brazile, James Carville and J.C. Watts. Other correspondents positioned across the country include Deborah Feyerick, Bob Franken, Jonathan Freed, Joe Johns; Chris Lawrence, Dan Lothian, Keith Oppenheim, Mary Snow, Brian Todd and John Zarrella. Also, John Roberts will be reporting from Baghdad. CNN Radio will also be on deck with Dick Uliano from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. and Lisa Goddard from 2 p.m. to 1 a.m. CNN’s Pipeline will include real-time results, analysis from top political experts, speeches from around the nation and commentary from top bloggers attending the “CNN E-lection Nite Blog Party” hosted by Jacki Schechner and Abbi Tatton. Glenn Beck will also appear on Pipeline throughout the day (which is free Monday). CNN.com’s special section, America Votes 2006, is located at www.cnn.com/elections abd will be your one-stop shopping for CNN election needs.

  • C-SPAN: Programming will start at 8 p.m. on November 7th with victory and concession speeches from the most competitive Senate campaigns, events with House and Senate leadership from around the country, and analysis from Congressional Quarterly, C-SPAN’s partner in the Campaign 2006 Web site, CampaignNetwork.org. It will also include real time results from the AP.

  • Fox News: Brit Hume “kicks-off” FNC’s midterm coverage on Election Day, beginning at 6 p.m. with Special Report and continuing throughout the evening with You Decide 2006, including Fred Barnes, Mort Kondracke, Juan Williams, Bill Kristol, Michael Barone, Carl Cameron, Major Garrett, Megyn Kendall and Bret Baier.

  • NBC: Brian Williams will kick-off the coverage at 6:30 p.m. with the first feed on the “NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams.” All “Nightly News” feeds will be updated live, with election trends, analysis and results as polls close. Network coverage
    continues with hourly updates beginning at 8:00 pm, including reports from Tim Russert and Tom Brokaw, and an hour-long “Decision 2006” special report will air from 10:00 – 11:00 pm. West Coast viewers will get an NBC News live “Decision 2006” special report from 10:00 – 11:00 pm, PT. “Weekend Today” co-anchors Campbell Brown will report on voter trends and Lester Holt will look ahead at the 2008 presidential race. NBC News will also offer its affiliates time within the special report to cover local and state races. A team of correspondents will fan out across the country and report on key Senate, House and gubernatorial races, and will include Ron Allen, Tom Costello, Lisa Daniels, Rehema Ellis, Chris Jansing, George Lewis, Ron Mott, Mark Potter, David Shuster, Don Teague, Kevin Tibbles, and Mike Viqueira. David Gregory will report from the White House, and Chip Reid will cover Capitol Hill. On Election Day, “Today” will offer extensive coverage of the country’s most highly contested and watched races, with reports from Russert and Brokaw. They will also appear on “Today” Wednesday morning providing expert analysis and Election Day results.

  • CBS: Katie Couric will anchor Campaign 2006: Election Night, highlighted by a one-hour live primetime special on Tuesday, Nov. 7 (10:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT), which will be updated live for the west coast. CBS Radio News will simulcast the 10 p.m. special. Hourly updates will also begin at 8 p.m. Political Analysts Mike McCurry and Nicolle Wallace will join Couric. Gloria Borger will cover the Senate races; Sharyl Attkisson will cover the House races; Anthony Mason will be at the Exit Poll Desk; Jim Axelrod will be at the WH; Byron Pitts and Sharyn Alfonsi will report from battleground states; Lee Cowan will be in Ohio; Bill Whitaker will be on the west coast; and Bob Schieffer will provide analysis. (via TVNewser)