WIN Awards to Recognize Creative Women

NEW YORK In addition to honoring individuals in the film and television industries, the Women’s Image Network’s WIN Awards this year will introduce an advertising category to recognize women in advertising.

WIN will present three awards named after the Greek goddesses Hectate, Isis and Persephone to ads that show creative excellence and effectiveness and had at least one woman on the creative team. Liz Paradise, creative director at McKinney + Silver in Raleigh, N.C., will chair the jury.

“It’s got to be about creative excellence,” Paradise said about the inaugural awards. “People hopefully will be inspired that there are women out there doing a terrific job.”

She points to Miami shop Crispin Porter + Bogusky’s work for BMW’s Mini as an example of work with the creative caliber to be honored at the show.

“It has won so many awards so far and one of our judges, Amee Shah, was behind that work,” Paradise said.

Shah, now at Bartle Bogle Hegarty in New York, worked on the Mini campaign when she was an art director at CP+B.

Other WIN judges include Cheryl Berman, chairman, chief operating officer of Leo Burnett, Chicago; Sally Hogshead, freelance creative director; Amee Shah, art director, BBH, New York; Luke Sullivan, group creative director, GSD&M, Austin, Texas; Monica Taylor, art director, Wieden + Kennedy, Portland, Ore.; Michael Conrad, dean, International Advertising Festival’s Cannes Lions Academy; Charlotte Moore, freelance creative director; Chris Staples, creative director, Rethink, Vancouver, Canada; Jamie Barrett, creative director, Goodby Silverstein & Partners, San Francisco; Tone Garmann, creative director, New Deal DDB, Oslo, Norway; David Oakley, creative director, Boone/Oakley, Charlotte, N.C.; Ellen Steinberg, freelance creative director; and Joyce King Thomas, creative director, McCann Erickson, New York.

The entry deadline is Sept. 15. Awards will be presented Nov. 7 in Los Angeles.

WIN, a nonprofit organization based in Los Angeles, was founded in 1993.