Merrill Lynch’s Komansky Joins WPP Board

LONDON WPP Group plc appointed David H. Komansky, chairman of the board of Merrill Lynch & Co., as a non-executive director and Howard Paster, WPP evp public relations/public affairs, a director at the UK holding company.

Sir Christopher Lewinton, former chairman of TI Group plc, and Warren Hellman, chairman of Hellman and Friedman LLC, have left WPP’s board as non-executive directors. Lewinton and and Hellman both joined WPP’s board in 2000, having previously served on the board of Young & Rubicam, which WPP acquired in October, 2000. From 1996-2002, Komansky was also CEO of Merrill Lynch, an account at WPP’s J. Walter Thompson ad agency.