Lavoie Leads Art Directors Club Jury

NEW YORK The Art Directors Club today named jury members for the 2005 Art Directors Club Awards and detailed two new categories that will be part of the show.

Paul Lavoie, chairman and chief creative officer of Taxi in New York and Toronto, will head this year’s jury.

“Having joined our board this year, he really shares the vision of the board. He understands the mission that we’re international and [the show] is about creative and visual excellence,” said Myrna Davis, executive director of the ADC.

The new “Hybrid” category will encompass work that does not fit into standard categories, such as viral campaigns and branded content. The other addition, “Playground,” will honor ads created for a client that never ran.

“There had been work that sometimes fell through the cracks because you had traditional juries that felt [the work] wasn’t advertising, designers felt it wasn’t design and interactive people didn’t think it was interactive,” Davis said. “We wanted to make sure not to let those things get missed.”

There are 26 other jurors from around the world. U.S. jurors include Bob Barrie, creative director, Fallon, Minneapolis; Rick Boyko, managing director, VCU Adcenter, Richmond, Va.; Brian Collins, creative director, Ogilvy & Mather Brand Integration Group, New York; Emma Cookson, global planning chief, Bartle Bogle Hegarty, New York; Tony Granger, executive creative director, Saatchi & Saatchi, New York; Sally Hogshead, freelance creative director, Los Angeles; Brian Lee Hughes, art director, TBWA\Chiat\Day, Playa del Rey, Calif.; Mitch Kanner, principal, The Firm, Los Angeles; Duncan Marshall, creative director, Publicis, New York; Chuck McBride, executive creative director, TBWA\C\D, San Francisco; Andrew Meyer, creative director, Leo Burnett, Chicago; Ben Palmer, president, Barbarian Group, Boston; Kevin Proudfoot, co-executive creative director, Wieden + Kennedy, New York; Rob Strasberg, copywriter, Crispin Porter + Bogusky, Miami; and Todd Tilford, freelance creative, Dallas.

Lavoie, graphic design jury chair Emily Oberman, principal of Number Seventeen in New York, and interactive chair Kevin Wassong, former president and CEO of Connect@JWT in New York, will judge the Hybrid category this year, along with select jury members.