Julius Genachowski to Head FCC

The Federal Communications Commission is finally getting a new chairman and will soon be operating at full force with five Commissioners.

The Senate late Thursday (June 25) confirmed Julius Genachowski as chairman of the Federal Communications Commission. The Senate also confirmed Robert McDowell for a second term.

Also on Thursday, President Barack Obama nominated Meredith Attwell Baker to fill the vacant Republican seat on the FCC. Baker is the former head of the National Telecommunications and Information Administration. She and McDowell will be the two Republicans on the Commission.

To fill the vacant Democratic slot, Obama chose Mignon Clyburn, daughter of Rep. and majority whip James Clyburn (D-S.C.) and a member of the South Carolina Public Service Commission.

Since January, Michael Copps (Democrat) has served as acting chairman of the FCC, which has been short two Commissioners. He will remain on the Commission as a Commissioner.