Ad Council Elects NYT’s Robinson

WASHINGTON, D.C. The Ad Council on Wednesday elected Janet Robinson, the New York Times Co.’s chief operating officer, as the group’s new chair. Robinson replaces Andrea Alstrup, Johnson & Johnson’s corporate vice president of advertising, and will serve in the position for one year.

Robinson has been on the Ad Council’s board since 1997 and is credited with helping to raise $5 million for the group’s operations. She also hired the consulting firm McKinsey and Co. to develop a three-year strategic plan for the group pro-bono.

“Janet’s valuable insight and experience will help our board to greatly extend the reach and impact of the Ad Council,” said the group’s president and CEO Peggy Conlon.

The Ad Council also elected 14 new board members at the Wednesday meeting. The members are: Roger Adams, executive director of advertising and corporate marketing at IBM; Deirdre Bigley, IBM’s vice president of worldwide advertising; Steve Blamer, president and CEO of Grey Worldwide North America; Daryl Evans, vice president of advertising and marketing communications at Cingular Wireless; Ann Fudge, chairman and CEO of Young & Rubicam; Jim Heekin, chairman and CEO of Havas’ EURO RSCG Worldwide; Stephen Hills, president and general manager of The Washington Post; Andy Jung, senior director of advertising and media of the Kellogg Company; Craig Moon, president and publisher of USA Today; Martin Nisenholtz, CEO of New York Times Digital; Scott Schulman, senior vp of sales of marketing at The Wall Street Journal; Charles Townsend, president and CEO of Conde Nast Publications; Heidi Ueberroth, executive vp of global media properties at the National Basketball Association; and Joan Walker, executive vp of corporate marketing and communications at Qwest.