To Do Today (And Congrats Charlie!)

From the NPC:

    Iraq Study Group co-chairmen James A. Baker III and Lee H. Hamilton will address a National Press Club luncheon on Monday, June 11, as part of the annual Gerald R. Ford Foundation Journalism Awards presentation.

    Former Secretary of State Baker and former Indiana Rep. Hamilton will pay tribute to the 38th President and answer questions on such issues as implementation of recommendations made by their bi-partisan Iraq Study Group in December 2006. Jack Ford, son of the late President and director of the Gerald R. Ford Foundation, will present the foundation’s annual awards for outstanding coverage of the presidency and national defense issues.

    Baker and Hamilton have wide experience in political, diplomatic and national security issues. Baker served in the administrations of three presidents, including as undersecretary of Commerce for President Ford, Chief of Staff and Secretary of the Treasury for President Ronald Reagan and Secretary of State for President George H.W. Bush. He led presidential campaigns for those three Presidents and currently serves as honorary chairman of the James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy at Rice University.

    Hamilton served for 34 years in the House of Representatives, where he was the ranking Democrat on the Foreign Affairs Committee and chaired the Intelligence Committee. He is President and Director of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars and sits on the President’s Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board and the Homeland Security Advisory Council. He also co-chairs the Independent Task Force on Immigration and America’s Future and was vice chairman of the 9/11 commission.

    The National Press Club luncheon will begin promptly at 12:30 p.m. Remarks will begin at 1 p.m. followed by a question-and-answer session. Reservations can be made by calling (202) 662-7501 or email Cost of the luncheon is $16 for National Press Club members, $28 for guests of Club members and $35 for general admission.

Charlie Savage is the recipient of this year’s award.