RTCA Dinner Date Changes For President Obama

Breaking now on FBDC: The Radio & TV Correspondents Association will change the date of the 2009 dinner to Friday, June 19th to accommodate President Obama’s schedule. RTCA will announce in an email to members shortly that the President will attend on the 19th.

The 65th annual dinner was previously scheduled for Thursday, June 4th. The dinner will still be held at the Washington Convention Center.

President Heather Dahl promises a “spectacular evening at an exciting new venue.”

Her email to RTCA members after the jump…

Email subject line: An exciting announcement about the 65th Annual Radio & Television Correspondents’ Dinner

Dear RTCA Member:

We are pleased to announce President Barack Obama is scheduled to join us for the 65th Annual Radio & Television Correspondents’ Dinner that will now be held on Friday, June 19th, 2009 at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Please note the NEW DATE of Friday, June 19 allows for the President’s attendance.

Please make your reservation for the dinner by returning the attached Reservation Card. Existing dinner reservations will be transferred to the new date, as will sleeping room reservations currently held at the Renaissance Hotel. Questions can be emailed to rtcadinner@comcast.net.

The table drawing is scheduled for Friday, May 15. All those wishing to participate in the drawing must purchase tables prior to May 15th. RTCA members may purchase individual tickets for themselves and a guest regardless of their news organization’s participation.

We realize many of you will need to make last-minute adjustments to your plans. We appreciate all of your efforts in order to accommodate this new date.

We’re creating a spectacular evening at an exciting new venue and hope you will join us on June 19th.

Heather Dahl, 2008 – 2009 Chair
Feature Story News

RTCA Executive Committee Membership
Linda Scott, The NewsHour w/Jim Lehrer, 2009 – 2010 Chair
Peter Slen, C-SPAN 2010 – 2011 Chair
Jamie Dupree, Cox Radio
Linda Kenyon, SRN News
Deirdre Walsh, CNN
Dave McConnell, WTOP Radio News
Chad Pergram, Fox News Channel
Jill Jackson, CBS News
Jeffrey Ballou, Al Jazeera Network