Radio – TV Correspondents Dinner: The Details

The release is out. Are you ready?

    The 64th annual Radio & Television Correspondents Association “Salute to Congress” dinner will take place on Wednesday, April 16, 2008 at the Washington Hilton Hotel.

    2,400 journalists, politicians, government officials and celebrities will attend the dinner with the Vice President and Mrs. Cheney seated at the head table. The Cheneys will be joined at the head table by Congressional leaders Mitch McConnell, Daniel Inouye, Steny Hoyer, James Clyburn, John Dingell and Roy Blunt as well as White House Press Secretary Dana Perino.

    Humorist Mo Rocca (“The Tonight Show”, “CBS Sunday Morning”) is the featured entertainer. CBS News Director of Political Coverage Steve Chaggaris is the dinner chairman.

    CBS News Washington Bureau Chief Chris Isham and “Face the Nation” moderator Bob Schieffer will host Attorney General Michael Mukasey, President Bush’s new Homeland Security adviser Kenneth Wainstein and Sens. Lindsey Graham and Olympia Snowe. CBS News White House Correspondent Bill Plante will present the annual Barone award for Congressional/public affairs reporting.

    NBC’s Brian Williams is joining Tim Russert, Andrea Mitchell and Lester Holt at the NBC tables along with the family of David Bloom, who are attending to present the annual award for enterprise reporting named in his memory.

    Fox’s Rupert Murdoch and Roger Ailes will host former GOP presidential candidates Mitt Romney and Mike Huckabee; cabinet secretaries Elaine Chao and Michael Chertoff; other guests include Gov. Haley Barbour, Laura Ingraham, Andy Card and Juleanna Glover. Fox News personalities Bill O’Reilly, Bill Hemmer, Megyn Kelly, Martha MaCallum, Shepard Smith and Jane Skinner are expected to attend.

    Among ABC News’ guests are Iraq Ambassador Samir Sumaida’ie and former Clinton campaign chief of staff, Patti Solis Doyle.

    CNN personalities Gloria Borger, Ed Henry, Dana Bash, Jessica Yellin and Carol Costello are expected to attend.

    Other notable guests include “Newshour” anchor Jim Lehrer, hip hop mogul Russell Simmons, Washington Redskins quarterback Jason Campbell, former Homeland Security Secretary Tom Ridge, syndicated columnist Robert Novak, and D.C. Mayor Adrian Fenty.