Column Contest Finalists Announced

The National Society of Newspaper Columnists has announced the finalists for its 2013 column contest. One name to note: Roger Ebert. His column was nominated in the Online, Blog and Multimedia category.

Congrats to all the nominees, who we’ve listed below. The winners will be named June 29.

General Interest, Newspapers over 50,000 Circulation

Dave Lieber, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Thomas Rademacher, The Grand Rapids Press; Rich Telander, Chicago Sun-Times.

Humor, Newspapers over 50,000 Circulation

Samantha Bennett, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette; Bob Dyer, Akron Beacon Journal; Brian O’Connor, The Detroit News.

General Interest, Newspapers under 50,000 Circulation

Kevin McKeever, The Advocate, Stamford, Conn.; Telly Halkias, The Portland (Maine) Daily Sun; Amanda Beam, News and Tribune, Jefferson, Ind.

Humor, Newspapers under 50,000 Circulation

Beth Bartlett, Lovely County Citizen, Eureka Springs, Ark.; Laura Rafaty, St. Helena (Calif.) Star; Ginger Truitt, The Lebanon (Ind.) Reporter.

Online, Blog and Multimedia Columns (over 100,000 monthly unique visitors)

John Avlon, The Daily Beast; Roger EbertChicago Sun-Times; Richard Parker, The New York Times.

Online, Blog and Multimedia Columns (under 100,000 monthly unique visitors)

Mike Farley, Farleyinwriting; Lisa Molinari, The Meat and Potatoes of Life; Suzette Standring, The Patriot Ledger (Mass.)