Burns Fellowship Winners Named

…including one for local girl Emma Schwartz.

From the release:

    Twenty journalists from leading news organizations in the U.S. and Germany such as CNN, The Wall Street Journal, Süddeutsche Zeitung, and Deutsche Welle were named as winners of the prestigious Arthur F. Burns Fellowship.

    Fellows travel to the other side of the Atlantic for a nine-week stint, where they work for host newspapers, magazines, radio and television stations, and also send stories back to their home news organizations.

    The program, administered by the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ) and the Internationale Journalisten-Programme (IJP) in Konigstein, Germany, has attracted scores of young talent over the past 20 years. The program was designed to promote better understanding between the U.S. and Germany.

    This year’s U.S. winners are:

    * Amanda Bensen, features reporter, The Post-Star, Glens Falls, NY
    * Allison Connolly, business reporter, The Baltimore Sun, Baltimore, MD
    * Curtis Gilbert, producer, Minnesota Public Radio News, St. Paul, MN
    * Alison J. Hawkes, Capitol bureau chief, Calkins Media, Harrisburg, PA
    * Christine Lagorio, producer, CBSNews.com, New York, NY
    * Marissa Muller, assignment editor, CNN, Atlanta, GA
    * Damaso Reyes, European correspondent, New York Amsterdam News, New York, NY
    * Laura Santini, reporter, The Wall Street Journal, Hong Kong
    * Tanya Schevitz, higher education reporter, The San Francisco Chronicle, San Francisco, CA
    * Emma Schwartz, senior reporter, Legal Times, Washington, DC