Benjamin Moore Announces HUE Award Winners

Paint company Benjamin Moore has announced the winners of its fourth annual HUE Awards, which recognize the exceptional use of color in architecture and interior design with glass sculptures shaped like giant paint droplets and cash prizes. The 2010 HUE winners are Ghislaine Viñas Interior Design of New York (residential interiors), Envision Design of Washington, D.C. (contract interiors), color consultant Amy Wax of Montclair, New Jersey (residential exteriors), and Allen + Philp Architects/Interiors of Scottsdale, Arizona (contract exteriors). This year’s HUE lifetime achievement award goes to Diamond Baratta Design. The firm’s principals, William Diamond and Anthony Baratta, join past lifetime achievement honorees Steven Holl, Ettore Sottsass, and Ricardo Legoretta. Additonally, a HUE special achievement award will be presented to Cleveland-based Eikona Studios “for its unique dedication to the restoration and preservation of mural art and masterpieces that grace the walls and domes of American churches, cathedrals, and houses of worship.” The awards will be presented on May 5 in a ceremony at the Museum of Arts and Design in New York, after which the winners will paint the town umbria red, ryan red, milano red, ladybug red, spanish red, poppy, and crimson.