American Institute of Architects Elects 2013 Officers

Per usual, the American Institute of Architects has already elected their officers for well off into the future, more than a year away. The results of the election for their representatives through 2013, held at the organization’s annual convention which was in New Orleans this year, have been announced. Already the current vice-president of the AIA, Mickey Jacob will serve as its next president for 2012 through 2013 (we believe that’s the first time in AIA history that there’s been this sort of immediate succession, so the guy must be a favorite), with Russel Davidson and Debra Kunce coming on as Vice Presidents for that same period, and Gabriel Durand-Hollis as the organization’s treasurer. Here’s a bit about the new top man in charge:

Jacob, managing principal at Urban Studio Architects, a seven-person firm in Tampa, has more than 25 years of AIA participation holding numerous leadership positions with AIA Tampa Bay, AIA Florida, and AIA National. Following his term as president of AIA Florida in 2004-2005, he served as the 2007-2009 AIA Florida/Caribbean Regional Director on the AIA National Board of Directors. In 2009, he was elected to a two-year term as an AIA vice president.

Jacob also has been active in government advocacy, including serving as chair of the Florida Architects Political Action Committee, of ArchiPAC, and of the AIA Board Advocacy Committee. Participating in the development of several advocacy initiatives, including as a cofounder of the AIA Breakfast of Champions program, Jacob has helped raise the awareness of the importance of political engagement, and is a vocal advocate to position AIA members to attain leadership positions.