L.A. Times Wins Pulitzer for Coverage of San Bernardino Terrorist Attacks

It's the paper's third such prize in the last 18 years.

The list of Pulitzer winners for Breaking News Coverage is now officially book-ended by the Los Angeles Times. The paper won in 1998 for its reporting of a bank robbery and subsequent police shootout in North Hollywood. This afternoon, the Times was crowned in the category for its coverage of the San Bernardino terrorist attacks.

The Breaking News Reporting Pulitzer dates back to 1953 but has been previously awarded under four different, successive prize names: Local Reporting, Edition Time; Local General or Spot News Reporting; General News Reporting; Spot News Reporting.

With today’s win, the L.A. Times stands as the most frequent winner in this category’s latest iteration with three prizes. The Tribune paper was also cited in 2004 for its coverage of Southern California wildfires (and was a finalist as well in 2015 and 2001). Two-time winners in the Breaking News Reporting category are The Seattle Times and the Denver Post.

Speaking of two-time winners, in today’s Pulitzer field for media prizes, The New Yorker, The New York Times, Tampa Bay Times and Boston Globe earned that distinction for 2016. Full list of winners here.

Previously on FishbowlNY:
SoCal Journalists Bemoan #SanBernadino Misspelling
The Daily Beast Tags the Wrong Syed Farook
San Bernardino Police Chief Points to Local Newspaper Op-Ed

Recommended articles