Hill, Arnold Shine At Best Of Broadcast Awards

Mullen Takes Top Radio Prize; SIG Dominates New Media Category
BOSTON–The region’s largest agencies dominated last week’s 18th annual Best of Broadcasting Awards.
Hill, Holliday, Connors, Cosmopulos won best of show, while Arnold Communications collected the most prizes overall. Mullen was awarded the top prize in radio.
Hosted by the New England Broadcasting Association, this year’s show was sponsored this year by Boston magazine and New England Cable News. At least 400 industry executives attended the awards presentation, held last week at the Boston Harbor Hotel.
Boston-based Hill, Holliday won 14 prizes, including top honors for “Sarajevo,” a moving 90-second commercial for Boston-based John Hancock Financial Services that aired during the 1998 winter Olympics. The commercial also earned the top prize in the categories for Best Produced TV Spot and Insurance.
Arnold in Boston won 42 awards, 16 of which were gold for clients such as Volkswagen, Converse and the Massachusetts Department of Public Health.
Mullen, Wenham, Mass., took home 15 awards, including six golds for BankBoston, Nextel and the Sci-Fi Channel. Its best in radio award was given for a spot created for Paddington Corp.
Cronin, Glastonbury, Conn., won 13 awards, including three golds.
Awards were handed out in 35 categories covering television, radio and new media, the latter of which drew 50 entries in all. Strategic Interactive Group in Boston dominated the new media division, winning the top prize in four of the five categories.
Out of the 447 entries submitted by 54 companies, 224 were deemed worthy of an award. Entries were judged in Seattle by a panel that included Dean Saling, senior copywriter, and Mark Watson, senior art director, both with WongDoody; John Schofield, creative director at McCann-Erickson; Alan Yamamoto, founder of The (x) Factor; Larry Asher, creative director of Working Bees; Rob Bagot, creative director with Big Bang; Ken Bennett, founder of Outer Planet; and Jim Copacino, principal of Copacino.