ADC Welcomes 6 Into Hall of Fame

NEW YORK The Art Directors Club here will induct six creative professionals into its Hall of Fame next month.

The new members, to be honored at a gala dinner at the ADC Gallery here on Oct. 12, are: Janet Froelich, creative director of The New York Times Magazine; Issey Miyake, fashion designer; Nancy Rice, art director and co-founder of Fallon McElligott Rice (now Fallon Worldwide); Bert Stern, photographer; Art Spiegelman, cartoonist and author of Maus; and Nicholas Negroponte, founder of the MIT Media Lab.

“The diverse nature of our Hall of Fame selections reaffirms ADC’s role as the organization that recognizes creative excellence and innovation across disciplines,” said ADC president Paul Lavoie, chairman and chief creative officer of Taxi. “We’re recognizing a group of leaders who have made inspirational contributions to their fields.”

This year’s advertising agency inductee, Nancy Rice, co-founded FMR in 1981, where she created lauded campaigns for the Episcopal Church, Rolling Stone and The Wall Street Journal, among others Rice’s induction into the ADC Hall of Fame comes nearly 20 years after the Art Director’s Club named Rice its first Art Director of the Year.

The 2006 inductees join, among others, Seymour Chwast, Lee Clow, Charles Eames, Steve Frankfurt, Bob Gage, Milton Glaser, Bob Giraldi, Steve Horn, Annie Leibovitz, Raymond Loewy, Joe Sedelmaier and Edward Sorel.