Messaging was originally available in the main PlayStation App, but with this release of PlayStation Messages, the feature has been removed. To be specific, when users attempt to access their conversations in the original app, they’re prompted to download PlayStation Messages.
The PlayStation Messages app gives users access to their friends list, as well as current conversations, and includes a ‘favorites’ tab which allows users to mark individual users, or groups of users, as their favorites for quick access later on. Users can sort their friends list alphabetically, or based on their online status.
When chatting, users can send text messages, voice messages and photos to other users, as well as stickers from PlayStation games, like Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End or LittleBigPlanet 3, as examples. When users wish to view another user’s PlayStation Network profile, they’re bounced back to the main PlayStation app.
In a blog post, John Koller, vice president of PlayStation brand marketing at Sony Computer Entertainment America, said:
We know that Messages is the most used feature of the PlayStation App, so we created the standalone PlayStation Messages app with a more streamlined design in order to get you into your Messages and communicating with your friends faster than ever before.