Google+ Expands Its Mobile Presence as Facebook and Bing Take On Search

By Devon Glenn 

Google+ is now accessible in 48 more countries and territories, thanks to an update to its iPad and iPhone app.

In the last week, Facebook and Bing have edged into Google’s territory with new options for social search. Bing now uses more Facebook content in its social sidebar, while Facebook just debuted its Graph Search feature, which makes searchable all of the social data on the network.

While Google still dominates search with 66.7 percent of the marketshare, Facebook’s 1 billion-strong user base dwarfs that of Google+, which only recently reached 500 million users.

In broadening its reach, Google plays to its strengths, as Google+ already has a strong international following. According to GPlusData, India and Brazil have the second and third largest user base, next to the United States. (Facebook’s population breakdown is similar, according to Socialbakers.)

Google+ has a 4-star rating on the App Store. Wrote one reviewer, “10x better than Facebook you can have friends and not worry about being hacked. Completely safe and awesome app.”

Facebook’s app also has a 4-star rating that’s based on a larger number of reviews. With 57 percent of Facebook users accessing the site on mobile devices and a 67 percent growth in mobile usage in the last year alone, Google is wise to expand its mobile offerings.

Yesterday, Google engineer Frank Petterson rattled off the long list of update recipients in his blog. According to the post, the new countries and territories are:

Albania, Anguilla, Barbados, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Chad, Republic of Congo, Dominica, Fiji, Gambia, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Liberia, Macau, Malawi, Mauritania, Federated States of Micronesia, Mongolia, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Saint Lucia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and The Grenadines, Suriname, Swaziland, São Tomé and Príncipe, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos, Ukraine, British Virgin Islands, Zimbabwe