Facebook Thursday announced the rollout of Privacy Checkup, a tool aimed at helping users better control who sees their content, which the social network began testing as early as March and officially introduced in May.
Product manager Paddy Underwood provided a guide for how to get started with Privacy Checkup in a Newsroom post:
Today, we’re starting to roll out Privacy Checkup, which helps you review and control who you’re sharing with.
We know you come to Facebook to connect with friends, not with us. But we also know how important it is to be in control of what you share and who you share with.
You’ll see the option to take Privacy Checkup when you visit Facebook in the coming days. Click “Let’s Do It!” to do the Checkup; it should only take a minute or two.
The first step helps make sure you’re sharing with the right people:
The second step shows which apps you’ve logged into with Facebook. You can edit who sees each app and any future posts it makes for you, or delete the apps you no longer use:
The final step helps you review and edit the privacy of key pieces of information on your profile:
You can also reach Privacy Checkup at any time by clicking Privacy Shortcuts:
Readers: Will Privacy Checkup help clear up users’ confusion over Facebook’s privacy settings?