Here’s How to Stop Facebook Friends From Seeing Your Posts

Facebook's Restricted List allows users to stop specific friends from seeing their content

Have you ever wanted to share a post to Facebook, but without a specific friend seeing it? While it’s possible to change the privacy setting of each individual post you share, what if you wanted to stop a specific friend from seeing any of your content going forward? Facebook’s Restricted List feature allows you to do just that.

When you add a friend to your Restricted List, they won’t see any of your future posts unless they are tagged in the posts or the posts have a “Public” privacy setting.

Here’s how to add users to your Restricted List in the Facebook mobile application. Note: These screenshots were captured in the Facebook app on iOS.

Step 1: Go the profile of the user you’d like to add to your Restricted List. You can get there by searching for the user manually, or by tapping on their name on a post or comment they’ve shared.

Step 2: Tap the “Friends” button under the user’s name.

Step 3: Tap “Edit Friend Lists.”

Step 4: Scroll to the bottom of the list, and tap “Restricted” to add a check mark to this row.

Before:

After:

Step 5: Tap “Done” in the top-right corner of the screen to save your changes.

If you ever want to remove a user from your Restricted List, follow Steps 1-5 above to remove them.