Google announced the release of a new Trusted Contacts application on Android. The personal safety app allows users to share their locations with friends and family members even if they’re offline or are unable to get to their devices.
With the Trusted Contacts app, a user can mark certain contacts as “trusted,” and these users will be able to see their activity status. In addition, if a user feels unsafe in their current situation, they can share their location with their trusted contacts. For instance, a user could share their location with a trusted contact while they’re walking home alone at night.
Meanwhile, if a trusted contact is worried about a user, they can request to see their current location. When a user receives a location request, they can choose to deny the request if everything is OK. On the other hand, if the user doesn’t respond to the request within five minutes, their location will automatically be shared with the trusted contact who made the request.
In situations where a user’s device is offline, when a location request is made and not responded to, the user’s last known location will be shared with the trusted contact who made the request.
A user can choose to stop sharing their location, or change the users on their trusted contacts list, whenever they’d like.
The Trusted Contacts app is available to download for free on Google Play.