Facebook: Here’s How to Select Your Legacy Contact

Follow our guide to select a Legacy Contact for your account

Did you know Facebook allows you to select a Legacy Contact who will be able to manage your account after you pass on? This user won’t be able to post as you or see your messages, but he or she will be able to change your profile picture, pin a post on your Timeline and respond to incoming friend requests.

Our guide will show you to how to select your Legacy Contact from within the Facebook mobile application.

Note: These screenshots were captured in the Facebook app on iOS.

Step 1: Tap the three horizontal lines in the bottom-right corner of the screen.

Step 2: Scroll down, and tap “Settings.”

Step 3: Tap “Account Settings.”

Step 4: Tap “General.”

Step 5: Tap “Manage Account.”

Step 6: Tap “Legacy Contact.”

Step 7: Tap “Choose Legacy Contact.”

Step 8: Type the name of the Facebook user you’d like to be your Legacy Contact. Note: By default, this user won’t know they’ve been selected as your Legacy Contact until after your Facebook account has been memorialized following your passing. However, you will have the option to notify them of your selection in the next step.

Step 9 (Optional): Tap “Send” to send Facebook’s template message to your Legacy Contact. This will tell the user you’ve chosen them as your Legacy Contact, and it will allow them to learn more about this feature. You can also tap “Not Now” to skip sending this message. Note: You can edit the message before sending it.

Once you’ve selected your Legacy Contact, you can also choose to give this user “Data Archive Permission,” which will allow them to download a copy of the things you’ve shared on Facebook after you’ve passed on. This may include your posts, photos, videos and information from the “About” section on your profile, but it won’t include your private messages. By default, your Legacy Contact will not have this ability.

To give your Legacy Contact Data Archive Permission, return to the Legacy Contact menu using Steps 1-6 above, and tap “Data Archive Permission.”

From here, tap “Yes, Allow” to give your Legacy Contact Data Archive Permission. Tap “Save” to save your selection.

Finally, if you ever want to remove/change your Legacy Contact, return to the Legacy Contact Menu using Steps 1-6 above, and tap “Remove.”

From there, tap “Remove” to confirm your decision.