It looks like one of the changes Twitter made to its new interface – beside creating a new redesign, embedded tweets and profile pages for brands – was to make it much, much more obvious when someone has blocked you.
The new Twitter redesign includes some snazzy new navigation, a cool “# Discover” section and a nicer looking profile page, but there are also a whole host of smaller changes that have taken a while to come to light.
For instance, if someone is blocking you on Twitter, you will be notified of it if you visit their profile page and try to follow them.
I’d like to say I stumbled across this one myself, but I owe ZDNet. And maybe it’s a good thing… it could mean that there aren’t a whole lot of people out there blocking me!
Either way, I did some testing and it looks like ZDNet nailed it. Check out the screenshot below:
Now for the record, my colleague and Social Times editor Neil Vidyarthi is not blocking me. We experimented with a temporary block to test out ZDNet’s findings.
But if you look above, you’ll see that a bar notification has appeared at the top of his profile page, right after I clicked the “Follow” button. It tells me:
“Sorry, you can’t follow this user (because they’re blocking you). Learn More”
This is much more specific than the simple error message that Twitter used to show when someone attempted to follow an account that was blocking them on the old Twitter design.
I’m not sure this is such a smart move on Twitter part. It’s kind of a slap in the face to find out that you’ve been blocked by someone. Plus, the change walks a thin line when it comes to Twitter’s own support page detailing blocking, which reads in part:
“We do not notify a user when you block them, but because they will no longer be able to follow you, they may notice that they’ve been blocked.”
It’s true that this change does not technically notify a user when they’ve been blocked, but it does notify them that they’ve been blocked when they visit the profile of the individual doing the blocking.
What do you think? Should Twitter be this blatant in letting users know when they’ve been blocked? Let us know in the comments below.