Here are nine things Facebook users should know about photo sync, courtesy of Naked Security:
- Photo sync is an opt-in feature: Facebook does not turn it on for mobile users by default. The social network is pushing out messages urging users to “get started.”
- Once the feature is enabled, the last 20 photos taken by users will automatically be pushed to private photo albums on their Facebook accounts, along with every picture taken thereafter.
- As previously reported, photos in those private albums are not visible by any other Facebook users.
- Facebook users can opt to only have photo sync work when they are accessing the social network via Wi-Fi, in order to conserve data on their cellular plans.
- Facebook will not run photo sync if battery levels on mobile devices are low.
- Reminder: Every photo taken by users will be uploaded to Facebook.
- In addition, every photo uploaded to Facebook can be mined for data by the social network, including location metadata and, potentially, facial-recognition technology.
- Yet another reminder: Every photo taken by users will be uploaded to Facebook, and users are no longer in control of those photos.
- Photo sync can be disabled by following these steps.
Readers: Have you enabled or been prompted to enable photo sync on your mobile devices?